“My Butt is getting SO big!”

Laugh: to express mirth, pleasure, derision, or nervousness with an audible, vocal expulsion of air from the lungs that can range from a loud burst of sound to a series of quiet chuckles and is usually accompanied by characteristic facial and bodily movements.

 

…and other hilarious stuff my three year-old says.

It’s these kinds of surprising and honest comments that keep me going, that keep me sane.  When I’m feeling overwhelmed with the sheer magnitude of being a mother, it’s these simple moments that remind me why I chose to a parent in the first place.

I’m sure we all have a laundry list of adorable things our children have said, but how often do we take the time to really tally them up and enjoy them?  A lot of my posts are, and will continue to be, about the struggles of raising a child diagnosed with ASD, but I cannot allow myself to merely unleash the struggle.  I need to embrace the moments of pure joy parenting brings as well.

So, for today’s post, here are a couple of moments highlighting my “laundry list of laughter,” if you will.

Laugh #1: “Mommy, you’re a princess!”  
Big C’s comment when he saw me in a dress for the first time (I’m a slacks kind of gal).  After that comment, it’s a wonder I don’t wear dresses every day.

Laugh #2: “Mommy, you are my son.”
Imagine this said with a completely serious and sincere tone.  I often tell Big C he’s my son and that I love him. Obviously, “son” has a unique connotation for him.

Laugh #3: “You wanna piece of meat?”
One day when wrestling with our son, my husband asked him, “Do you want a piece of me?”  Big C heard something a little different, and it’s stuck ever since.

Laugh #4: “Ask.”
Big C often repeats things verbatim.  In the world of ASD, this is called echolalia (one of the many terms I’ve learned).  So, for example, when I tell Big C to ask his father for a popsicle, he walks up to his daddy and says, “Ask.”  It’s adorable, I tell you!

Laugh #5: “There’s a snake in my boot!”
Big C will often randomly quote lines directly from movies and tv shows and insert them awkwardly into “conversations.”  It leaves most he interacts with perplexed, but makes me smile understandingly.  It’s like our own private joke (speaking of  which, that’s a Toy Story reference).

Laugh #6: “T-rex have teeth big as ‘nanas!”
No surprise that Big C likes to fixate on things.  One of his biggest fixations are dinosaurs.  He watched an episode of Dino Dan (sneaking suspicion he may also be on the spectrum) and they mentioned that Tyrannosaurus Rexes have teeth as big as bananas.  This little fact has fastened itself to Big C’s brain ever since, and it is a fact he is thrilled to share with anyone who will listen.

Laugh #7: “I’m the little boss!”
In a fit of frustration one night, my husband said to Big C, “You need to listen to me.  I’m the boss!”  to which Big C responded, “Well, I’m the little boss!”  Well played little dude, well played.

Laugh #8: “Patience, Mama.  Do you understand?”
This past Christmas morning, I was perplexed that Big C was not ripping his presents open.  Instead, he was placing them into a pile and simply staring at them, seemingly savoring the moment.  When I asked him why he wasn’t opening any, that was his response above. I do understand, Big C, I really do.

Laugh #9: “Oh, man!”
Big C picked this up from Swiper on Dora the Explorer and says it at pretty hilarious times like after throwing up on the kitchen table.  Little dude’s got comedic timing down.

And finally, Laugh #10: “My Butt is getting SO big!”
Big C loves to talk about how big he’s growing and then cite each individual body part’s amazing growth.  You get the idea.

What are some of the hilarious comments your child makes?  I’d love to have you add to the laundry list.


Clapagaré / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

 


~Chaos Contemplated (for now)

Like me on Facebook! Follow me on Twitter!

try again

 

Lemme know what you think!

