Nothing to Write About

 Writer’s Block: the condition of being unable to think of what to write or how to proceed with writing.

As an English teacher, I hate it when my students emphatically tell me: “I have nothing to write about.”

There is always something to write about, I assure them.  And while I still believe that to be true, I experienced a little bit of what is notoriously referred to as “writer’s block” this past week.  I’ve set a personal goal of writing at least weekly on my blog, and I’ve fallen short by a few days now.  I’ve started a half dozen posts, some just in my head, others typed out, but none of them have felt quite right, so I’ve shelved them for a later date.  It felt like I was trying to write a post, just for the sake of writing a post.

So I asked myself an important question this morning: why?  Why can’t I think of something meaningful to write?

The answer?  Because right now, in this small interlude of life, nothing is really happening.  I am in the midst of July: for many teachers, the month of bliss.  Last school year is far enough removed now to be a distant memory and anxiety for the upcoming school year isn’t due to arrive for a couple of more weeks with the advent of August.

This July has been fun.  I spent last weekend enjoying a weekend getaway with my husband to celebrate our five-year anniversary.  Next week, we leave for a week-long family vacation on a lake (not to toot my own horn, but I’m rather clever.  Bringing my parents along so we can actually get some mini breaks).  In between, my days have become oddly mechanical, full of walks to the park, playing in sand, and having picnics on our patio.  There hasn’t been a ton of me time per se, but there’s been a lot of wonderful bonding time with my boys, especially since we stopped ABA therapy with our three year-old son.

In short, July has been blissfully uneventful.  No therapist drama, no shocking diagnoses, no kids getting kicked out of daycare, no essays to grade on a tight deadline.

Don’t get me wrong.  It hasn’t been a “carefree” month.  I’m still taking care of two small boys all day by myself, so I’m thoroughly exhausted by the end of the day (did I mention they’re early risers?  6 am wake-up call is not uncommon in this house), but we aren’t dealing with “major” issues at the moment.  Right now, we’re just….living…and I’m totally okay with that.

So, I think I’ll enjoy this blissful interlude in my life, because I know it will be short-lived.  Not a pessimist, but a realist.  If you’re a teacher like me, you know when August rolls around, a knot of anxiety starts to form in the pit of your stomach at the realization of how much work you have to do to prepare for that looming first day of school.

But guess what students?  I have “nothing” to write about, and I’m still writing.  Heck, I’m even on “vacation” and still writing.  No excuses, ladies and gentlemen.


colemama / Foter / CC BY-NC-SA

 


~Chaos Contemplated (for now)

Like me on Facebook! Follow me on Twitter!

try again

 

Lemme know what you think!

