Why Write?

blog: (noun) a regularly updated website or web page, typically one run by an individual or small group, that is written in an informal or conversational style.

I teach a high school Creative Writing class, and I always start the first class with the question, “Why do you write?” The students write their responses on post-it notes and post them around the room. The reasons vary, but most come back to a need to get their thoughts down and the relief it brings them.

“I absolutely LOVE THIS.”

Then I tell them they’re going to create and keep a blog for the semester. While most have heard of a blog, very few have one. One or two ask why they need to create a blog. They’re afraid of sharing their ideas and would prefer to keep them private. It’s for that very reason I tell them they need one. Writing a blog will give their writing an audience, adding an entirely new element to their written work. Writing can be very powerful when it is reciprocated.

“This SOOOOOOOOOOO resonates with me.”

By the end of the semester, several students keep their blog going beyond the class.  Even more students choose to take the course again.

“OMG, yes!”

It’s fascinating how easy it is to dole out advice, yet how hard it can be to follow. I’ve been blogging for about two years now, but there have been lulls (particularly recently) where I’ve questioned continuing it. Finding time is a struggle, and I sometimes wonder if I need to anymore. Why not just write in a traditional journal? Why share my thoughts with the entire world wide web?

“I am SO glad to have found your blog today.”

Because someone is reading. Someone does care.

“Thank you, so much. There are a lot of parenting blogs, but your candor and humility and heart are unique.”

When I chose to create a blog, I made a conscious decision to share my thoughts in the hope they might positively impact others.

“You brought tears to my eyes. Wonderful post.”

It has. It may not be the most popular or award-winning blog, but people are reading it. People are commenting. People are being affected by my words. 

“This made me cry in such a real, heartfelt way because I related so acutely to each of your perfectly articulated words.”

This is why blogging matters. It brings people together. It sheds light on why all of us intuitively write: to feel connected.

“Yup…still tears over here.”

To my readers, thank you for reminding me my words do matter. Sometimes, all we need is a little encouragement to get going again.

“Thanks for posting! Can’t wait to read more!”

Time to start writing again.

pencil-918449_1920
Photo Credit: Pixabay

 


~Chaos Contemplated (for now)
try again

 

Follow me on Facebook!
Like me on Twitter!

 

 

3 thoughts on “Why Write?

Lemme know what you think!

